History

Colonel Thomas Farrington (1664 - 1712). On February 16th 1694 Farrington was commissioned by the King to raise a Regiment of Foot which was to become the Worcestershire Regiment

Colonel Thomas Farrington (1664 – 1712).
On February 16th 1694 Farrington was commissioned by the King to raise a Regiment of Foot which was to become the Worcestershire Regiment


The Worcestershire Soldier exhibition tells the story of the men of the Worcestershire Regiments from 1694 to the present.

These soldiers lived and sometimes died in the defence of the country and its interests overseas. Using archive film, memories and the unique collections of The Worcestershire Regiment and Worcestershire Yeomanry, this display brings over 300 years of military history to life.

Click on the links for brief histories of The Worcestershire Regiment and the Worcestershire Yeomanry or browse our blog posts.

The Worcestershire Soldier is managed by the Mercian Regiment Museum (Worcestershire) Trust and we are a Registered Charity no 276510.